ASIC Announces Officers and Board of Directors


EAST LANSING, Mich. – The ASIC National Conference was held in Portland, Oregon, April 26-28. The conference was attended by over 165 people across the United States, plus attendance by Professional Members from Canada and England. Prior to the conference, ASIC hosted two Integrated Water Management Workshops in conjunction with Green Roofs for Healthy Cities which drew in attendees from across the country.

ASIC held its election prior to the conference and the results were announced at the annual business meeting. Incoming ASIC president is Ivy Munion (ISC Group), vice president is Corbin Schneider (Verde Design), treasurer is Chris Mitchell (Russ Mitchell & Associates) and secretary is Stacy Gardner (Irrigation Consulting, Inc.). Steve Hohl (Water Concern) moves to past president.  Each officer will serve a two-year term in the position.

Carey June (Irrigation Consulting Services, Inc.) and Lynda Wightman (Hunter Irrigation) were elected to join the Board of Directors and will both serve a three-year term. They are joined on the Board by existing members Janet Luehrs (Brookwater), Michael Astram (Northern Designs, Inc.), Chris Steele (Toro Company), Robb Kowalewski (Jain Irrigation) and Kevin Oglesby (Ewing Irrigation). Plaques were awarded to retiring BOD members Vince Nolletti (Paige Electric) and Doug MacDonald (Aqua Engineering) and were thanked for their many years of service to the Board.

At the Annual Awards Banquet, the Sam Tobey Award was presented to Lynda Wightman in recognition for her hard work and unwavering commitment given through the years to ASIC. The Roy Williams award was presented to Jim Laiche for his passion for the irrigation industry and the selfless and exemplary customer service he has provided. ASIC congratulates both for the their well-deserved honors. 

Fellow status was presented to two highly esteemed professional members, Brian Vinchesi and Brendan Lynch. Both have added value and prestige to our profession through their dedicated work as consultants and for giving back to the industry, making it a better profession as a result of their efforts. The recipients were selected by the existing ASIC Fellows and presented with the Fellow distinction by the ASIC Fellows in attendance including Jim Barrett, Russ Mitchell, Stephen Smith and Dave Pagano.