ASLA Opens 2016 Call for Entries



Source: www.TurfMagazine.com

WASHINGTON, D.C., – The American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA) has announced its calls for entries for the 2016 Professional and Student Awards, the world's most prestigious juried landscape architecture competitions.

Each year, the ASLA Professional Awards honor the best in landscape architecture from around the globe, while the ASLA Student Awards give us a glimpse into the future of the profession.

Award-winning submissions will be featured in the October issue of Landscape Architecture Magazine and in many other design and construction industry and general-interest media. Award recipients, their clients and student advisors also will be honored at the awards presentation ceremony during the ASLA Annual Meeting and EXPO in New Orleans, October 21-24, 2016. Award-winning submissions will also be featured in a video presentation at the ceremony and on the awards website following the event.

The prestige of the ASLA awards programs relies on the high-caliber juries that are convened each year to review submissions.

Members of this year's professional awards jury are:

- Kona Gray, ASLA, Chair, EDSA, Fort Lauderdale, Fla.
- Keith Bowers, FASLA, Biohabitats Inc. Baltimore
- Jennifer Guthrie, FASLA, Gustafson Guthrie Nichol, Seattle
- Mami Hara, ASLA, Philadelphia Water Department, Philadelphia
- Christopher Hume, Architecture Critic, *Toronto Star*, Toronto, Ontario
- Lee-Anne Milburn, FASLA, California State Polytechnic University, Pomona, Calif.
- Willett Moss, ASLA, CMG Landscape Architecture, San Francisco
- Suman Sorg, FAIA, DLR Group | Sorg, Washington, D.C.
- Laurinda Spear, ASLA, ArquitectonicaGEO, Miami

Joining the jury for the selection of the Research Category will be

representatives on behalf of the Landscape Architecture Foundation (LAF) and the Council of Educators in Landscape Architecture (CELA).

Members of the student awards jury are:

- Laura Solano, ASLA, Chair, Michael Van Valkenburgh Associates Inc., Cambridge, Mass.
- Ned Crankshaw, ASLA, University of Kentucky, Lexington, Ky.
- Terrence DeWan, FASLA, Terrence J. DeWan & Associates, Yarmouth, Maine
- Janelle Johnson, ASLA, Hoerr Schaudt Landscape Architects, Evanston, Ill.
- Roger Lewis, FAIA, Peace Corps Commemorative Foundation, Washington, D.C.
- Elizabeth Miller, FASLA, National Capital Planning Commission, Washington, D.C.
- Forster Ndubisi, FASLA, Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas
- Trinity Simons, Mayor's Institute on City Design, Washington, D.C.
- Barbara Swift, FASLA, Swift & Company Landscape Architects, Seattle

Both the ASLA Professional and Student awards feature five categories: General Design; Residential Design; Analysis and Planning; Communications; and Research. The Professional Awards also include The Landmark Award, while the Student Awards include the Student Community Service Award and Student Collaboration categories.

Entry submissions and payment must be received by:

- March 18, 2016 for ASLA Professional Awards
- May 13, 2016 for ASLA Student Awards

In need of inspiration? View the ASLA 2015 **professional** and **student** awardwinning projects. Entry payments and submissions must be submitted **online** <u>here</u>.