Association News



Source: www.TurfMagazine.com

News from PLANET

The **Professional Landcare Network** has named **Sabeena Hickman** as chief executive officer. Hickman was formerly chief operating officer and has been acting CEO for the past 18 months. She came to PLANET in June 2007 and is a graduate of Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University.

The Tree Care Industry Association and PLANET met in Baltimore, Md., to examine the potential for new organizational relationships in order to provide increased value to the green industry. Both parties will continue discussions to create and design the plan for a new organization that will maintain the current community structure. This includes keeping PLANET's specialty groups in place and keeping the TCIA community together, while also maintaining the positive characteristics that have made both organizations successful. Both boards have made a good faith commitment to create a new industry organization that would replace the existing associations and to design a successor organization that will increase value to everyone and be approved by both memberships.

ASA Announces Scholarship Recipients

The American Shotcrete Association has awarded graduate scholarships to **Benjamin Turner** and **Nicolas Ginouse**. Each student will receive a stipend of \$3,000 for tuition, residence, books and materials.

Turner received his bachelor's degree in civil engineering from California Polytechnic State University and is currently working toward earning a master's in civil engineering at the same university. While at Cal Poly, he has worked as an intern at AIS Construction.

Ginouse received his mechanical and industrial engineering degree from Arts et Métiers Paristech in Paris, France, and is currently pursuing a master's in civil engineering from Laval University. He is beginning his graduate

studies on the shotcrete team at Laval.

ASBA Honors Founders with Industry Merit Award

The American Sports Builders Association announced the winners of its highest honor, the Industry Merit Award. It was presented to the individuals who founded the association more than 45 years ago. The award was presented at ASBA's Technical Meeting in Savannah, Ga. It is meant to recognize individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the association and the industry. In its presentation, ASBA recognized the founders as well as charter members: William J. Hansen, Robert E. Lee, Gene Edwards, Joseph P. McClaren, Sydney R. Mayer, M. Dale McDonald, George Peebles, Emery W. Bedall, Sheldon Westervelt, Dick Hoover and Robert Caldwell.

Project EverGreen Elects 2010 Board, Selects New EverGreen Zone

Project EverGreen elected its board of directors for 2010 at its semiannual meeting, held in Raleigh, N.C. The board includes Norman Goldenberg, president; Mike Sisti, first vice president; Bill Klutho, second vice president; Tom Delaney, secretary; Kirk Hunter, treasurer; Chris Kujawa, past president; and Den Gardner, executive director.

The executive committee consists of Cynthia Amos, Dan Carrothers, Neil Cleveland, Margaret Bell, Scott Frith, Paul McDonough, Alan White, Cindy Code and Deborah Kuo. Newly elected board members include Estelle Grasset, Russ Mitchell and Bill Vogel.

Project EverGreen chose the I-40 corridor from Raleigh west to Winston-Salem, N.C., as the third EverGreen Zone, beginning in 2010. It will join Akron, Ohio, and Milwaukee, Wis. The EverGreen Zone concept was created to blanket a population area with positive messages about the importance of taking care of lawns, sports fields, community parks, golf courses and other green spaces.

"