North Carolina Grandfathering Period For State Contractors’ License Ends Aug. 1


RALEIGH, N.C. — North Carolina landscape professionals have until Aug. 1 to get grandfathered into the new state contractors’ license.
The N.C. General Assembly created the license and board in August. The law requires licenses for landscape professionals who perform landscape contract work—as defined by the legislation—valued at $30,000 or more for a single client, in a single year, but the grandfathering period allows anyone who met these following criteria by Dec. 31, 2014, to obtain a license without examination:

  • Current registered landscape contractor;
  • Licensed irrigation contractor;
  • Certified turf professional; or
  • Individual who has three years of documented landscape contracting experience.

Those who qualify need simply to submit applications, fees and a surety bond or irrevocable letter of credit issued by an insured institution in the amount of $10,000.

After the grandfathering period, landscape professionals will have to complete an application process and multisection exam to obtain licenses. To maintain licenses, contractors will have a $60 annual renewal fee and have to maintain seven hours of continuing education to keep current.

Click here to read the full article at Times-News.