OPEI Announces Additional Board Members


ALEXANDRIA, Va. – The Outdoor Power Equipment Institute announces three additional board members will be joining the current Board of Directors as of October 21 at the opening of the joint trade show, GIE+EXPO and Hardscape North America, the largest gathering of green industry professionals in the country. The new board members include:

  • Tom Duncan, President & CEO, Positec USA, Inc.
  • David Withers, President, Jacobsen, A Textron Company
  • Bjoern Fischer, Incoming President, Stihl

“OPEI represents the depth and breadth of the outdoor power equipment, utility vehicle, and small engine manufacturing industries. Board members play a vital role in overseeing our work, ensuring we continue to be the voice of this diverse industry. The additional board members will lend their unique vision and expertise to our already-strong board,” said Kris Kiser, president and CEO of OPEI.

More than 18,000 people are expected to converge on the Kentucky Exposition Center for the ground-breaking Green Industry & Equipment Expo (GIE+EXPO) and Hardscape North America, October 21-23, 2015.

OPEI, a majority shareholder of GIE+EXPO, represent its members and their interests in Washington, D.C., educate the public about proper fueling for outdoor power equipment through the organization’s ‘Look Before You Pump’ campaign, and share safety standards and best practices. In addition, OPEI’s TurfMutt environmental stewardship and education program, created in partnership with Scholastic, teaches children and families how to take care of and enjoy living landscapes.

Continuing service on the OPEI Board of Directors: Daniel Ariens, President, Ariens Company; Earl Bennett, General Counsel N.A. & L.A., Husqvarna Group; Edward Cohen, Vice President, Government & Industry Relations, Honda North America, Inc.; Tim Merrett, John Deere; Vice President of A & T Global Platform and Turf & Utility, Deere & Company; Tom Cromwell, Group President – Power, Kohler Company; Tim Dorsey, President, Echo Incorporated; Marc Dufour, President, Club Car; Peter Hampton, President, Active Exhaust Corporation; Jean Hlay, President and Chief Operating Officer, MTD Products Inc.; Michael Hoffman, Chairman, Chief Executive Officer, The Toro Company; Paul Mullet, President, Excel Industries; Lee Sowell, President, Outdoor Products at Techtronic Industries Power Equipment; Todd Teske, Chairman, President & CEO, Briggs & Stratton Corp.; and Fred Whyte, President, Stihl Incorporated.