LAWRENCE, Kan. – Allen Johnson, Certified Sports Field Manager (CSFM) and fields manager for the Green Bay Packers, is the newly elected president of the Sports Turf Managers Association (STMA).

Other STMA members elected to the Board include:

  • President-Elect – Jeff Salmond, CSFM, University of Oklahoma (Norman, Okla.)
  • Immediate Past President – David Pinsonneault, CFSM, CPRP, Public Grounds Superintendent for the Town of Lexington (Lexington, Mass.)
  • Vice President, Commercial – James Graff, Graff’s Turf (Ft. Morgan, Colo.)
  • Secretary / Treasurer – Tim Van Loo, CSFM, Iowa State University (Ames, Iowa)
  • Elected-at-Large Director – Jimmy Simpson, CSFM, Town of Cary (Cary, N.C.)
  • Commercial Director – Doug Schattinger, Pioneer Manufacturing (Cleveland, Ohio)
  • Schools K-12 Director – Robert Behr, Ashley Ridge High School (Summerville, S.C.)
  • Professional Facilities Director – Dan Bergstrom, Houston Astros (Houston, Tex.)
  • Directors fulfilling second-year terms are:
  • Parks & Recreation Director – Sarah Martin, CSFM, City of Phoenix (Phoenix, Ariz.)
  • Members appointed to the Board include:
  • Director At-Large – David Anderson, PE, D.A. Hogan & Associates (Seattle, Wash.)
  • Higher Education Director – Matt Anderson, CSFM, University of Arizona (Tucson, Ariz.)
  • Academic Director – Jeffrey Fowler, Penn State Cooperative Extension (Franklin, Pa.)

“STMA advances professionalism in sports field management and safety for those who manage surfaces for soccer, baseball, football, rugby and many other outdoor activities,” says Johnson. “It’s an honor to be elected President, and I look forward to continuing to strengthen the role and importance of the sports turf manager in local communities.”

STMA conducts its annual elections electronically in late November and the Board officially takes office during the Conference & Exhibition each January.

For more info on STMA:, @fieldexperts, 800-323-3875.