Association News


WGIF Announces Hall of Fame Award Winner

This year’s Wisconsin Green Industry Federation Hall of Fame inductee is the late Bob Walkoe. Walkoe was employed at McKay Nursery Co. for over 45 years and owned Landscape Associates, Inc. for over 30 years. He served as president of the Wisconsin Landscape Contractors Association and as treasurer for WGIF when it was the Wisconsin Landscape Federation.

Western Expands Annual Event

The Western Nursery & Landscape Association announced the expansion and re-branding of its annual trade show and conference, The Western. Beginning in 2011, it will become the National Green Centre and begin alternating between St. Louis and Kansas City, Mo. More information is available at

News from PLANET

The Professional Landcare Network has named Sabeena Hickman as chief executive officer. Hickman was formerly chief operating officer and has been acting CEO for the past 18 months. She came to PLANET in June 2007 and is a graduate of Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University.

The Tree Care Industry Association and PLANET met in Baltimore, Md., to examine the potential for new organizational relationships in order to provide increased value to the green industry. Both parties will continue discussions to create and design the plan for a new organization that will maintain the current community structure. This includes keeping PLANET’s specialty groups in place and keeping the TCIA community together, while also maintaining the positive characteristics that have made both organizations successful. Both boards have made a good faith commitment to create a new industry organization that would replace the existing associations and to design a successor organization that will increase value to everyone and be approved by both memberships.

ASBA Honors Founders with Industry Merit Award

The American Sports Builders Association announced the winners of its highest honor, the Industry Merit Award. It was presented to the individuals who founded the association more than 45 years ago. The award was presented at ASBA’s Technical Meeting in Savannah, Ga. It is meant to recognize individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the association and the industry. In its presentation, ASBA recognized the founders as well as charter members: William J. Hansen, Robert E. Lee, Gene Edwards, Joseph P. McClaren, Sydney R. Mayer, M. Dale McDonald, George Peebles, Emery W. Bedall, Sheldon Westervelt, Dick Hoover and Robert Caldwell.