Jacklin Appointed WSA President

Gayle Jacklin of J.R. Simplot Co. and Jacklin Seed has been appointed the first woman president of the Western Seed Association. Jacklin has served on the WSA board for three years and also served on the Atlantic Seed Association board and as the membership chair for The Field Seed Institute. She was recognized as Seedsman of the Year in 2002 and is a past chair of the lawn seed division for the American Seed Trade Association.

Companies Attain GCSAA Silver Partner Status

BASF Turf & Ornamentals, Rain Bird Corp. and E-Z-GO have pledged their support of the Golf Course Superintendents Association of America and its members by committing to participate in the association’s Partner Recognition Program at the Silver level.


Golf course superintendents Michael Maffei, Peter McDonough and Richard Staughton have been selected to receive the 2008 Golf Course Superintendents Association of America Excellence in Government Relations Awards for their commitment to government relations in the area of advocacy. Nominees were judged on how their efforts have served the interests of the superintendent profession and the golf course management industry.

Maffei has spearheaded many legislative efforts, effectively organized industry coalitions and was instrumental in forming the New York State Turfgrass Association’s annual Turfgrass Advocacy Day.

McDonough has been integral in shaping Virginia’s water laws through efforts to educate lawmakers on golf course management and water conservation practices. Most recently he directly helped develop state regulations on water reclamation and reuse.

Staughton has worked for the past three years with the Georgia Environmental Protection Division, Georgia GCSA Water Task Force, chapter members and state officials to improve water conservation in the state, including creating and implementing statewide water best management practices for golf courses.

ITODA Announces 2008 Leadership Team

Ned Herod, president of Herod Seeds, Inc. in Richmond, Va., has been elected president of the Independent Turf and Ornamental Distributors Association. He served two terms as vice president and has been a board member since 2004. He succeeds Brian Feury, who will continue his service as past president.

Also elected were Vice President Brian Smith and Secretary/Treasurer Chris Petersen. The board of directors includes David Shields, Don Spier, Don Nauman and Sheree Scarbrough.