Golf course superintendents Michael Maffei, Peter McDonough and Richard Staughton have been selected to receive the 2008 Golf Course Superintendents Association of America Excellence in Government Relations Awards for their commitment to government relations in the area of advocacy. Nominees were judged on how their efforts have served the interests of the superintendent profession and the golf course management industry.

Maffei has spearheaded many legislative efforts, effectively organized industry coalitions and was instrumental in forming the New York State Turfgrass Association’s annual Turfgrass Advocacy Day.

McDonough has been integral in shaping Virginia’s water laws through efforts to educate lawmakers on golf course management and water conservation practices. Most recently he directly helped develop state regulations on water reclamation and reuse.

Staughton has worked for the past three years with the Georgia Environmental Protection Division, Georgia GCSA Water Task Force, chapter members and state officials to improve water conservation in the state, including creating and implementing statewide water best management practices for golf courses.

Companies Attain GCSAA Silver Partner Status

BASF Turf & Ornamentals, Rain Bird Corp. and E-Z-GO have pledged their support of the Golf Course Superintendents Association of America and its members by committing to participate in the association’s Partner Recognition Program at the Silver level.

Jacklin Appointed WSA President

Gayle Jacklin of J.R. Simplot Co. and Jacklin Seed has been appointed the first woman president of the Western Seed Association. Jacklin has served on the WSA board for three years and also served on the Atlantic Seed Association board and as the membership chair for The Field Seed Institute. She was recognized as Seedsman of the Year in 2002 and is a past chair of the lawn seed division for the American Seed Trade Association.

ITODA Announces 2008 Leadership Team

Ned Herod, president of Herod Seeds, Inc. in Richmond, Va., has been elected president of the Independent Turf and Ornamental Distributors Association. He served two terms as vice president and has been a board member since 2004. He succeeds Brian Feury, who will continue his service as past president.

Also elected were Vice President Brian Smith and Secretary/Treasurer Chris Petersen. The board of directors includes David Shields, Don Spier, Don Nauman and Sheree Scarbrough.

TNLA Presents Awards, Elects Officers

The Texas Nursery & Landscape Association’s Texas Excellence in Landscaping (TEIL) Awards were presented at the association’s Awards Dinner in Austin, Texas. The TEIL program recognizes excellence in landscape design, installation and maintenance. Awards presented include Gold & Platinum Award, Lawns of Dallas; Gold Awards, Jason Osterberger Designs, L & R Landscape Services, Inc., Moss Landscaping, Inc.; Silver Awards, AJ’s Landscaping and Design, Inc., Gill Landscape Nursery, HLS Enterprises of Texas, Inc., L & R, Prime Landscape Services, Roundtree Landscaping, Inc.; and Bronze Awards, AJ’s, Guillen Landscape Contractor, L.P., HLS, Home & Habitat, Jason Osterberger Designs, L. D. Erickson, Inc., Moss Landscaping, Picture This Landscape & LA/3 Landscape Architects, Prime Landscape and ValleyCrest Landscape Development.

TNLA presented its annual awards during ceremonies held in Austin, Texas. Honorary lifetime memberships, given to those completing a career in the nursery/landscape industry, went to Chuck Sudduth, Elaine K. Turner and Ted Turner Sr.

The Young Leader Award, which honors service to date and encourages young leaders to move into leadership positions in the future, was presented to Michael E. Brown.

The Arp Award, created by Arp Nursery to recognize individuals whose service to the industry exemplifies dedication and high ethical and business values, went to Tom Dickerson.

TNLA’s board of directors for 2008-09 includes Bill Brown, James Wilhite, Johnette Taylor, Bobby Spence, John Smothers, Mark Buell, James Curtice, Paul Tomaso, Charles Potts, Jim Prewitt, Mark Harris, Trey Wyatt, Charles Britton Jr., Mark Chamblee, Sam Weger, Jon Klement, Robert Cartwright, Mark Baxmann and Jack Davis.

Schall, Ryan Receive FNGLA Award

The Palm Beach County chapter of the Florida Nursery, Growers & Landscape Association presented William Schall and Elise Ryan with the 2007 James J. Lulfs Industry Service Award, given annually to outstanding individuals in the horticultural industry.

Schall, the Palm Beach County Extension Service commercial horticulture agent, is on the board of directors of both the Palm Beach Chapter FNGLA and the Hoskins McDougald Horticultural Scholarship Fund. He was also instrumental in the development and implementation of the GrowSmart! Program. Ryan, owner of Color Garden Farms in Loxahatchee, Fla., has served on the Palm Beach Chapter FNGLA board of directors for several years, most recently chairing the environmental policy committee.