Research Leads to Industry Qualification Program

The Turfgrass Water Conservation Alliance has set a standard and qualified more than two dozen varieties of drought-tolerant grasses that are being sold across the nation. The nonprofit group is made up of independent researchers and seed producers who are dedicated to recognizing plants that provide a clear benefit in water conservation. There are now scientific testing and third-party verification standards in place, and turfgrass varieties that are TWCA-qualified should be considered green by industry standards. Visit for more information.

From left, Andy Ferguson and Dave Cromley, RMRTA and Colorado Turfgrass Foundation board member.

News from CALCP

Andy Ferguson, of the Davey Tree Expert Co. and past president of the Colorado Association of Lawn Care Professionals, was recognized as the Professional of the Year by the Rocky Mountain Regional Turfgrass Association. Ferguson has been in the turfgrass industry since 1998. He served two terms as president of CALCP and has been on the board of directors since 2002.

CALCP will present its 23rd annual Spring Training Conference March 1-2 at the Ramada Plaza Hotel in Northglenn, Colo. The conference will provide all classes required to complete license renewal for professional applicators and private applicators. Registration materials are available by calling 303-850-7587.

PGMS Presents 2010 Awards

The Professional Grounds Management Society honored several grounds professionals with numerous awards as part of its annual awards dinner.

The society presented the 2010 Gold Medal to John Deere, the E. Earl Wilson Award to Jeffrey Bourne and President’s Awards to Marion Bolick and John Doiron. The society also recognized Kevin Harvey, Mike Loftus and Gene Pouly for their longtime service to the association and board of directors.

News from AEM

The Association of Equipment Manufacturers announced the latest inductees into the AEM Hall of Fame. The 2010 inductees are Jim Gorman of the Gorman-Rupp Co. and Dr. Hans Liebherr of Liebherr Co. To learn more, visit

AEM named Tony Hughes of Infotech Enterprises, Bartonville, Ill., to its board of directors. Hughes is senior account manager of strategic accounts for the company. He is also the 2011 chair of AEM’s associate member group.