WNA Celebrates Arbor Day

The Wisconsin Nursery Association and The Bruce Co. donated and planted a red oak tree in Capitol Park in Madison, Wis., to commemorate the 136th Arbor Day celebration. In conjunction with Arbor Day, fourth and fifth-grade students wrote essays and created posters inspired by trees and their place in nature. Over 1,500 students submitted essays and more than 1,700 submitted posters to the contest. The winning entries were chosen by WNA staff and each winning student received a tree to plant in their own community. The winners are Micaela Jobke, Josie A. Bacon, Skyler Richard Fisher, Nathan Schwartz, Isabella Reichardt and  Hannah Glinski. Heritage Hill Nursery, Northern Christmas Trees & Nursery, Tillman Landscape Nursery, McKay Nursery, Johnson’s Nursery and Northwoods Nursery donated the trees.

Grams Named ILCA Executive Director

Scott Grams was named executive director of the Illinois Landscape Contractors Association. Previously, he was executive director of the Geographic Information Systems Certification Institute. Grams will work with the board of directors and committees to further ILCA’s education programs, legislation-in-action policies and quality workmanship for existing and new members. He will oversee ILCA’s sponsorship of the Mid-Am Show. Grams received his master’s degree in communication from Northwestern University after earning his bachelor’s in communications at Purdue University.

Scott Grams

Scholarship for Golf Students

The Walter J. Travis Society, Inc. awards the Walter J. Travis Memorial Scholarship in recognition of Travis’ contributions in the game of golf. He was a champion amateur golfer, golf course architect, turfgrass expert and golf journalist. The scholarship is awarded to students pursuing a career in golf course architecture, golf course turfgrass management/superintendent, professional golf or professional golf management.

Applicants must be enrolled full-time at an accredited two or four-year college/university. Students will be judged on academic record, extracurricular activities, involvement in golf-related activities and career goals. Application forms are available by e-mailing [email protected] or at Applications for the 2008-09 school year must be submitted by August 1, 2008.

Dr. Laurie Trenholm

Trenholm Receives TPI Award

Dr. Laurie Trenholm, associate professor/extension turfgrass specialist at the University of Florida, was the recipient of the first Turfgrass Educator Award of Excellence presented by Turfgrass Producers International.

Trenholm received her master’s degree in turfgrass physiology at the University of Florida in Gainesville and earned her doctorate from the University of Georgia’s Department of Crop and Soil Science. She has been a member of the faculty at the University of Florida since 1999. Trenholm is a member of TPI, Agronomy Society of America, Crop Science Society of America, Golf Course Superintendents Association of America, Florida Turfgrass Association, International Turfgrass Research Society and Florida State Horticultural Society.

ASGCA Elects Associate & Regular Members

The American Society of Golf Course Architects elected four new associate members: Jim Cervone, Bob Gibbons, Jae Lee and Jerry Lemons.

Eight associate members successfully completed all requirements and were elected regular members. They are Paul Albanese, Rick Baril, Grant Haserot, Greg Martin, Scot Sherman, Mike Smelek, Brit Stenson and Jason Straka.

Associate members of ASGCA have designed at least five 18-hole golf courses and have practiced golf course architecture for a minimum of eight years. Regular membership in ASGCA is earned after a member has been an associate member in good standing for at least three years and has designed and seen through to opening two additional 18-hole courses.

The Institute Elects Officers, Adds Board Members

The Environmental Institute for Golf elected officers and added three new members to its board of trustees. Bob Wood was elected chairman and Ken Melrose was elected vice chairman/treasurer. Rae Evans and James R. Fitzroy were added to the board for three-year terms. Fitzroy will serve as secretary. Mark J. Woodward returns to the Institute’s board as the Golf Course Superintendents Association of America’s CEO.

Steve Mona, Ricky D. Heine, Bill Kubly and Roger Twibell retired from the board. David Pillsbury will remain on the board for one year as immediate past chairman. Kubly and Pillsbury will both remain on the Institute’s advisory council. Jaime Ortiz-Patiño retired from the council.

News from ASLA

The American Society of Landscape Architects and the National Trust for Historic Preservation have announced that the Tanner Fountain at Harvard University will receive the 2008 Landmark Award. It was designed by Peter Walker, with The SWA Group, and the creation of a fountain without a basin transformed fountain design. The Landmark Award recognizes a distinguished landscape architecture project completed between 15 and 50 years ago that retains its original design integrity and contributes significantly to the public realm.  

ASLA announced the availability of The Roof is Growing!, an educational resource for middle school students and teachers about green roofs and their environmental benefits. The resource includes a lesson plan, workbook and online interactive program, and is available at

ASLA selected 20 members for induction into its Council of Fellows. Members of the council are recognized for their extraordinary work, leadership, knowledge and service to the profession over a sustained period of time. The fellows-elect include Thomas B. Bauer, John Alden Bentley, Jeff Caster, Craig C. Coronato, John F. Crowley III, Harry L. Dodson, Mark Allen Focht, J. Barry Frankenfield, Charlotte M. Frieze, Faye B. Harwell, Ronald M. Herman, Harlow C. Landphair, Douglas L. Mann, Samuel T. Melillo, Randall K. Metz, Edwin R. Mickelson, David F. Milligan, Nathan H. Perkins, Colgate M. Searle Jr. and Thomas R. Tavella.